Rail Customer Coalition Urges Senate Confirmation of STB Nominees

April 11, 2018

The Rail Customer Coalition (RCC) sent a letter to the Senate Commerce, Science & Transportation (CST) Committee Chairman John Thune (R-SD) and the Ranking Member Bill Nelson (D-FL), urging confirmation of President Trump’s two nominees to serve on the Surface Transportation Board (STB). ILMA is an RCC member.

The Senate CST will consider this week the nominations of Patrick Fuchs and Michelle Schultz to serve five-year terms on the STB. Fuchs currently is a senior professional staff member for the CST Committee, while Schultz is the deputy general counsel of the Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority.

The RCC also recommended that the Senate designate current STB member Ann Begeman to serve as chair, the president and Senate work cooperatively to re-nominate current STB member Deb Miller, and name and confirm an additional nominee to fill the remaining, open seat on the STB.